NaNoWriMo as AcBoWriMo Beta! via PhD to Published

28 Oct

 

 

 

 

PhD2Published has a great idea for academic writing this November: NaNoWriMo as AcBoWriMo Beta!.

 

NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month and it’s an initiative designed to turn the month of November into a month-long write-fest for current or would-be novelists. The idea is that you set yourself the task of writing 50 thousand words in November and bingo, you’ve got yourself a novel – or at least a first draft of a novel.

I did the bulk of my thesis writing in a fairly short amount of time. Not a month, I hasten to add, but I did embark on some intensive writing (as well as intensive Nutella-eating). Currently, I’m doing a Post-Doc in the US and part of why I’m here is so I can finish my first book. So after hearing about NaNoWriMo a colleague and I started wondering whether AcBoWriMo might be possible.

That’s right, we are here-by declaring November the first Academic Book Writing Month or AcBoWriMo Beta/0.1 or something. We are going to wear comfy clothes, drink a lot of coffee, probably nap in our offices at strange hours and see how close we can get to writing 50 thousand words in one month. I know, it’s totally insane, there can surely only be a handful of academics who can actually turn out decent material in such a short space of time. There are also a lot of differences between writing novels and academic books, but aren’t you just a little bit curious to know how much of a kick-start a dedicated writing month could give your book?

 

It is just in time for my push to get a whole lot of work done on my thesis since it looks like I’ll need to submit by very early next year in order to take up a job! Obviously I’ll be working on a thesis but AcThWriMo doesn’t have the same ring to it! I’ve got at least 36,000 words to write before I get a completed first draft together, and then lots of editing and tweaking. November is going to be my month! So watch this space!

Leave a Reply

